The big debate on social security and public aide assistance is nothing new. Millions have fought for both sides of the issue. All in all it's made a lot of noise with no sign of quieting down anytime soon.
Personally, I can fight for and against the issue although many expect me to be biased because I am in fact on both programs. Unlike so many people out there though, I actually worked hard for many years and earned enough credits to qualify for social security disability benefits. In no way did I ever feel I was "entitled" to receive them. However, I did contribute to the program with my hard earned money so why shouldn't I be able to use it if I truly need to??
Public aide is the same concept. I have donated money to charities and food pantries and homeless shelters. And I paid insurance premiums for a very long time. If it weren't for the extreme high costs of having a personal medical/dental insurance policy I would certainly NOT refer anyone to public aide. It covers the most BASIC of services and NO DENTAL except in extreme cases when a tooth is immediately in need of removal. No preventative care and no complicated procedures such as root canals or dentures. Not even a cleaning is covered.(they average about $80)
I think most of us can agree that the main reason so many are attacking these agencies is due to the constant sight of people pulling up to these places driving Cadillac Escalades,BMWs,and other luxury vehicles and then crying to social workers that they dont have enough food to feed their kids and cant afford a decent place to live or medical care. It is DEPLORABLE to me that anyone would even dare to go to these places in this manner let alone get approved for programs. I'm sorry but if it was up to me I would personally escort them back to their expensive cars and tell them SELL IT AND TAKE CARE OF YOUR FAMILY!!! If you can afford a $500-$800 car payment plus insurance every month then you can certainly afford a dr visit and groceries for your kids.
Why should people who truly need help have to be continuously turned down because other people take advantage and abuse the system?? There are people who cannot work because of their physical or mental stated who do everything possible BEFORE they even consider applying while others purposely quit jobs just so they can sit on their asses and collect a check or benefits by lying and faking conditions.
If we can afford to pay for wars and ridiculous salaries for athletes and politicians then there is NO REASON why we cant come up with a better plan to take care of our CITIZENS who sacrifice so much in their daily lives. Take the salaries of politicians and professional athletes and cut them by 1/3 each year. Put that money directly towards the increasingly RIDICULOUS debt that this country is in and bail our country out of debt. OR cut those salaries by 1/3 and use the money to equally add funds amongst those 2 programs so that people who NEED the help can get it. Stop thinking about what people in this country WANT and start doing what we NEED!
No comments:
Post a Comment